About Sumner County, Tennessee

Sumner County was created in 1789, but was originally founded in 1786 while still a part of the State of North Carolina. Sumner County  was named for General Jethro Sumner, a Brigadier General during the American Revolutionary War. The county is made up of eight cities including Gallatin, Goodlettsville, Hendersonville, Millersville, Mitchellville, Portland, Westmoreland and White House. Gallatin is the county seat. Sumner County is 25 miles northeast of Nashville.

Learn More


Tennesseans Age 16+ are now eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccination. To schedule an appointment with the Sumner County Health Department, visit https://vaccinate.tn.gov/ or call 866-442-5301. To find additional vaccine locations, visit https://vaccinefinder.org/search/.