About Sumner County


Sumner County was created in 1786 and was named for General Jethro Sumner, a Brigadier General during the American Revolutionary War. The county is made up of eight cities including Gallatin, Goodlettsville, Hendersonville, Millersville, Portland, Westmoreland and White House and Mitchelville. Gallatin is the county seat. Sumner County is 25 miles northeast of Nashville.