Public Records Request

HOW TO MAKE A PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST

In Sumner County, access to public records are governed by the Sumner County Public Records Request Policy and the Tennessee Public Records Act.

WHO DO I CONTACT TO MAKE A PUBLIC RECORDS REQUEST?

All public records requests for inspections and/or copies of records must be made to the Public Records Request Coordinator or the Department's Records Custodians (listed below). Requests for copies must be made in writing using the Public Records Request Form or requests can be e-mailed to ben@sumnercountytn.gov.

(Please note, the Coordinator or Custodian may ask the requestor to provide documentation confirming Tennessee citizenship.)

Public Records Request Coordinator Contact Information

Ben Allen
Phone: (615) 451-6060
Email: ben@sumnercountytn.gov 
Fax: 615-451-6061

After receiving your request, the Coordinator or Custodian will work to complete your request. If your request cannot be completed promptly, the Coordinator will contact you with the estimated time necessary to complete the request. Please note, there may be a cost for the production of your request (if you have requested copies). The Coordinator will inform you of any cost up-front before fulfilling your request. Your request may be denied if it falls under an exception to the Tennessee Public Records Act. You will be informed in writing if your request is denied.

Records Custodian Contact Information
Department Records Custodian and E-mail
Building and Codes Debi Smith
dsmith@sumnercountytn.gov
Circuit Court Clerk Kathryn Strong
kathryn.strong@tncourts.gov
County Clerk Jennifer Mitchell
jmitchell@sumnercountytn.gov
County Executive's Office Angie West
awest@sumnercountytn.gov
County Trustee Cindy Cantrell
ccantrell@sumnercountytn.gov
Development Services Kathy Young
kyoung@sumnercountytn.gov
Elections Commission Annette Haw
annettehaw@sumnercountytn.gov
Emergency Management Ken Weidner
kweidner@sumnerema.org
Emergency Medical Amy Summers
asummers@sumnerems.org
Finance Department Jessica Allison
jallison@sumnercountytn.gov
Health Department Hal Hendricks
Hal.hendricks@tn.gov
Highway Department Sheila Troutt
stroutt@sumnercohwy.com
Law Director's Office Ben Allen
ben@sumnercountytn.gov
Office of the Clerk and Master Mark Smith
mark.smith@tncourts.gov
Register of Deeds Holly Hemmrich
hhemmrich@sumnercountytn.gov
Risk Management Kim White
kwhite@sumnercountytn.gov
Sheriff's Office Natasha Latham
nlatham@sumnersheriff.com
Tax Assessor Paul A. Fornes
paulfornes@sumnercountytn.gov
Veteran's Affairs Darryl Eubanks
deubanks@sumnercountytn.gov

 

QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS?

Contact the Sumner County Law Director's Office at 615-451-6060

Public Records Request Form